Spiders and Presents

Last night’s dreams:

Mom and dad were staying at the house, but they were out for the evening.  They left a Christmas present that I wasn’t supposed to open yet.  I did, though, and saw that they had given me a wonderful high-tech laptop.  I opened the box a little more and saw a letter and a check.  I was trying to figure out how to rewrap it when I heard them come home.  I looked up at the ceiling in my office (where the present was), and I saw two enormous black spiders (about the size of my fist).  Their legs were blue with copper-colored ball joints.  I shouted WTF? and lay down on the floor.  The spiders, which had grown even more, landed on me.  Dad went for help, but I couldn’t stand the thought of the spiders crawling on me so I jumped up.  The cats decided to eat the spiders.  I guess the cats were all right.  I knew I would have to deal with the opened present at some point and then woke up.  

I might have some clues about parts of the dream.  I was googling insects yesterday in preparation  for my research class.  I spent a lot of time looking at insects.  That doesn’t actually explain the dream, though.  

These dreams actually occur in the morning, right before I wake up.

Leave a Reply

